Meitei / 冥丁 ‎– Komachi LP
Métron Records

Meitei / 冥丁 ‎– Komachi LP

Regular price €24,90
Der angegebene Preis ist ein Endpreis inkl. MwSt zzgl. Versandkosten.

Label Métron Records

Cat MTR002

Format LP Vinyl

Haunting and delicate, distant and timeless, Komachi is awash with white noise, complex field recordings and the hypnotic sounds of flowing water. Though confidently contemporary, like a bucolic J-Dilla, Komachi’s lineage can be traced back to the floating worlds of Ukiyo-e and Gagaku via the prism of 80s Japanese ambient pioneers, and 90s pastoral sample-based artists such as Susumu Yokota and Nobukazu Takemura. Composed as individual sonic dioramas, each of the twelve tracks have been crafted to not only evoke feelings of nostalgia but to also explore the dichotomy of ancient and new in modern Japanese society. This pervasive narrative runs throughout, calling to mind the work of authors Yasunari Kawabata and Natsume Soseki, as well as the films of Yasujirō Ozu and Hayao Miyazaki, artists similarly fascinated by the reflective tranquillity that permeated traditional Japanese domestic life. Limited DMM pressing.


A1 Seto

A2 Ike

A3 Nami

A4 Sento Pt. II

A5 Kawanabe Kyosai Pt.II

A6 Chouchin

B1 Maboroshi

B2 Sento Pt. I

B3 Myo

B4 Kawanabe Kyosai Pt.I

B5 Shinkai 

B6 Utano

Share this Product

More from this collection