V/A compiled by Moonboots  - Moments In Time DoLP - Vinylhouse
Music For Dreams

V/A compiled by Moonboots - Moments In Time DoLP

Sale price 14,90 € Regular price 21,90 €
Der angegebene Preis ist ein Endpreis inkl. MwSt zzgl. Versandkosten.

Label Music For Dreams

Cat ZZZ17005

Format DoLP Vinyl


A1 Rishi - Simple Trust

A2 David Darling - Cello Blue

A3 July Skies - The Softest Kisses

B1 Begin - Names In The Sand

B2 Fabror Resande Mac - Janne

B3 Blank & Jones - My Island

B4 Ben Morris - Gissningslekken

C1 Gryningen - Från Andra Hand Till Stränderna I Nice (Mike Salta Edit)

C2 Colorama - Anytime

C3 Natureboy - Love Song

D1 Bombay Hotel - Between Leaves

D2 Paul Hardcastle - Moments In Time

D3 Matt Deighton - Tannis Root

D4 Swan & the Lake - Waiting For Spring (Remix Feat Jonas Krag)



For the second in its new special collector series, Music For Dreams has asked long-time friend of the label Moonboots to pick out a selection of songs with the power to encapsulate moods of calm and moments of contemplation. The result is the exquisite “Moments In Time” Moonboots has been a fixture of the Manchester scene since the Balearic boom in the late 80s. He runs the prolific vinyl label Aficionado Recordings together with fellow DJ Jason Boardman, a project that started out as a Sunday club night. Since 2012, they’ve dished out more than a handful of 12” releases with an ever-surprising selection of underground acts at the fringes of what might be called Balearic. Some of these artists turn up on this album, with exclusive material culled from various demos and unfinished tracks. Swedish-based Farbror Resande Mac for instance, with the brooding, glacial and Carpenter-esque “Janne”, an old fave of Moonboots which featured on their (now defunct) website. “Names In The Sand” by Begin starts off as a similar story: a forgotten demo track Moonboots came upon a few years ago and has been spinning in digital form since. The version on the compilation is a tweaked and finished version. Another exclusive is the extended version of “Från Andra Hand Till Stränderna I Nice” by Gryningen, previously released in 2015 on Aficionado but here extended by Salta to six minutes instead of two. Aside from digging through the outputs of Aficionado affiliates, Moonboots also unearths a cover of Lesley Duncan’s eternal masterpiece “Love Song”. As Moon runs an Instagram account called onehundredlovesongs highlighting his collection of Lesley Duncan cover versions, this is clearly an obsession that bears fruit. “The Natureboy version came about in a weird way”, says Moon. “I was DJing at Spiritland (London) and playing this obscure Canadian xian version when the owner Paul came over to ask about it. He then told me his brother had recorded a version, put me in touch and next thing you know it’s on the comp!” Many of the selections have never previously been available on vinyl, only issued on CD or digital. For instance, the track which gives the compilation its title is a crisp and loungy Paul Hardcastle production from 2005, only ever released on CD. The same applies to the new age epic “Cello Blue” by David Darling from 2001 filled with field recordings of birds and water while Denmark’s own new age maestro Rishi contributes with the track “Simple Trust” from his 1993 album “Notes From The Inner Stream”. Another track seeing its first vinyl release is the contribution from world-jazz trio Bombay Hotel, featuring Kenneth Knudsen as well as Ole Thiel and Mikkel Nordsø who recently released new material for Music For Dreams - the Cafe Del Mar classic “Between Leaves”. Fact – label boss Kenneth Bager gave a copy of the original Bombay Hotel CD in 1993 to Phil Mison at Cafe Del Mar and told him about the “Between Leaves” track. Phil started to play it and the rest is history. The exception to the rule of vinyl premiers is the sample-heavy “Gissningsleken” by Ben Morris - previously released on a limited run 7” from 2012 - as well as dreamy July Skies track “The Softest Kisses” – the 7” version of which has never been issued elsewhere. New Moonboots faves German duo Blank and Jones are included with the summery “My Island” alongside new Danish artist “The Swan And The Lake“ with the exclusive mix of “Moments Of Lost Swans” (Remix) featuring Jonas Krag on pedal steel guitar. All in all, Moonboots has put together a dense collection of songs with a timeless feel. They will doubtless sound as good in the pub as they might at home on a Sunday or in a cabin in the woods. To top things off, the sleeve design comes from Aficionado’s graphic designer Topsy Von Salkeld.


Share this Product